top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily Page

5 Day EASY Crockpot Meal Prep for the BUSY MAMA

Updated: Feb 3, 2020


Let's be honest, I follow all of these bloggers who are stay at home moms and I aspire to do what they do but I just can't. Not that they don't work hard, because raising babies at home all day is absolutely HARD. WORK.


However, working 8-6 outside the home, I’m ALSO really really tired and the easier I can make it on myself, the better. So, I recently discovered THE CROCKPOT. I can shop, prep my family dinners for the entire week, and put it together each day on my lunch break— and with just a few additions, it's ready when I get home! PLUS they’re KID PROOF. My son eats all of these meals and is EXCITED about them!


*Depending on how long your day is you can also start it in the morning before work, or after depending on when you get off. I'll list the time for cooking each meal under the directions.



Meals for the week


Okay, for starters, I have a family of three: my husband, my son, and myself. My husband and son eat me out of house and home, but I still always have leftovers! All of these recipes have easy-to-find ingredients. some only calling for three. 


The best part is that the recipes include convenient ingredients that you may already have.


1. Honey Garlic Chicken

2. Ranch Pork Chops

3. Creamy Tacos

4. Stuffed peppers

5. LEFTOVERS!


INGREDIENTS NEEDED


  • Pack of 8-10 chicken thighs

  • 1/3 cup honey

  • 1/3 cup low sodium soy sauce

  • 6 minced garlic cloves

  • 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes

  • Pasta (angel hair or spaghetti)

  • 3-4 boneless (or bone-in) pork chops

  • 1 dry ranch packet

  • 1 can of cream of chicken

  • 1 can of diced tomatoes (whatever flavor wanted, we like green chile)

  • Taco Seasoning packet

  • soft taco shells

  • 4oz cream cheese

  • 1lb ground beef

  • 1 1/2 cup rice

  • 1 1/2 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese

  • 1 (15 oz) can of black beans

  • 1 cup corn kernels

  • 1 cup salsa

  • seasonings- 1 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp chili powder, Salt and pepper

  • 6 Large Bell peppers



PREPARATION


I block out time on Sunday before the start of the week. it takes about 30 minutes total to prep for all 5 meals :-)


1. Honey Garlic Chicken



Items needed


1/3 cup honey

1/3 cup light sodium soy sauce

6 garlic cloves (honestly I eyeball this with the minced garlic)

1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes


Mix all of these together in a bowl



Pour into a plastic bag (sandwich bag is big enough).


Refrigerate.



2. Ranch Pork Chops


These are already prepped because the ingredients are so easy!



3. Creamy Tacos


Just like the Ranch Pork Chops, the simplicity of the ingredients limits the time needed to prep.



4. Stuffed peppers



Cut tops off peppers and store them in a gallon ziplock bag. Refrigerate.

Cook rice. Refrigerate


*if you prefer, you can also precook the meat as well if you need it to cook faster.



Prep = DONE.


gif












Day 1- Honey Garlic Chicken


Take out 4 chicken thighs, salt and pepper them.


TIP: Put a liner on the crockpot for easy cleanup


Pour ziplock bag contents over chicken, cover, and put on low for 6-8 hours or high for 2-3.


Cook a small box of spaghetti or angel hair pasta and serve honey garlic chicken over pasta!

(refrigerate leftovers)


Day 2- Ranch Pork Chops


Add pork chops, ranch packet, can of cream of chicken, and a can of water to Crock Pot.


Cook of low for 4-6 hours


Serve with vegetable (we like steamed broccoli ):-)

(refrigerate leftovers)


Day 3- Creamy tacos


Add 3-4 chicken thighs, Taco Seasoning, diced Tomatoes to crockpot


Cook for 6-8 hours on low


30 minutes before its done, add cream cheese, don't stir and cover.


When the timer goes off, Stir in cream cheese and serve in soft taco shell

(refrigerate leftovers)


Day 4- Stuffed Peppers


Combine beef, rice, cheese, corn, black beans, salsa, seasonings (cumin, chili powder, salt and pepper)



Fill Bell peppers and place into the crockpot, cover, cook low 4-6 hours or high 2-3 hours


Uncover and top peppers with more shredded cheese and cook until melted, serve.


(Refrigerate leftovers)



Day 5. LEFTOVERS


Now that you've had 4 days of awesome meals, you can re-live them with your fam with leftovers from each night! :-)


Thanks for reading! I hope this post helps all my busy mamas out there make life a little easier and gives you more time to spend with your loved ones!








222 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Meal delivery kits- is it worth it?

Hi friends! The best meal kit for you depends on what you are looking for. I tried what I believe are the top 3 meal delivery kits out there, and reviewed them based on budget, ease, and taste. So, k

bottom of page